Friday, November 27, 2009
Youth Snowmobile Educatioin Course now Online
Salt Lake City– The Utah State Parks Know Before You Go! youth snowmobile education course is now available online at http://www.stateparks.utah.gov/.
Utah law requires youth eight to 16 to complete the Utah State Parks Know Before You Go! Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Education Course before operating a machine on public lands, roads or trails. It is illegal for
any child under age eight to operate an OHV on public land.
The online course covers riding basics, safety, winter survival and Utah laws. Upon successful completion of the course, students print a temporary certificate valid for 60 days and later receive a permanent certificate by mail. Cost for the class is $30
Students are encouraged to study all materials prior to taking the test. Students who do not pass the course must pay a second registration fee and retake the test. “Safety is our number one concern. We want to reduce the number of accidents by educating youth to operate snowmobiles safely and emphasize the importance of wearing safety equipment, and following laws and rules,” stated OHV Education Coordinator Ann Evans. “Online courses provide easier access to education courses and allow students to learn at their own pace.”
Summer OHV and personal watercraft (PWC) education courses are also available online at http://www.stateparks.utah.gov/ .
For more information, visit stateparks.utah.gov or call (800) OHV-RIDE.