Tuesday, June 22, 2010
Youth Off-Highway Vehicle and Personal Watercraft Education Courses now Available Online
Salt Lake City – In an effort to meet growing demand for off-highway vehicle (OHV) and personal watercraft (PWC) youth education courses, Utah State Parks now offers online courses at http://www.stateparks.utah.gov/.
OHV course fees are $30 and cover ATVs, off-highway motorcycles and side-by-side ATVs. PWC courses, which cover JetSki and SeaDoo-type boats, are $34.95, which include a $5 certification fee. Upon successful completion of coursework, students print temporary certificates valid for 60 days and later receive permanent certificates by mail.
Students are strongly encouraged to thoroughly study all materials prior to testing. If they do not pass the course, they must pay a second registration fee to retake the test.
“Safety is our number one concern. We want to reduce accidents by educating youth to operate ATVs and PWC safely, wear safety equipment, and follow laws and rules,” stated OHV/PWC Education Coordinator Ann Evans. “Online courses provide easier access to education courses and allow students to learn at their own pace.”
Utah law requires youth eight to 16 to complete the Utah State Parks Know Before You Go! OHV Education Course before operating a machine on public lands, roads or trails. It is illegal for any child under age eight to operate an OHV on public land.
Utah youth, 12 to 17 years of age, are required to complete and pass the Utah PWC Education Course in order to operate these types of boats without an adult on board. Children younger than 12, may not operate a PWC without a responsible adult on board.
Since the creation of the education courses, approximately 22,000 students have completed the PWC course and more than 60,000 students have taken the OHV course.
For more information, visit http://www.stateparks.utah.gov/, call (800) OHV-RIDE or (800) RIDE PWC.